Looking to find (or make) a compact passive rca audio switcher box

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by colby2415, May 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. colby2415

colby2415 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I have started to run out of inputs on my vintage yamaha amp. I'm sure many remember this A/V switch boxes from back in the day that basically turned one rca a/v input into multiples. Anyways I test various pieces of equipment frequently and its always a pain in the ass to get everything back when I'm done. Problem is, a lot of those switcher boxes are quite ugly and the ones that just do R+L rca seem less common than the ones with the video rca. Anyhow, I just want something passive (no circuitry of any kind) which I assume it's possible as they are physical analog connections. I am trying to find something that fits the mid to late 70's aesthetic (veneer like wood cabinets and metal face plates). I'm not an electronics expert in any way but I do know some of the essentials. Would it be the best bet to build one of these myself? I figure you'd need an enclosure and a bunch of rca mounting components and some kind of switch. I figure someone around here must have created something like this (I do recall seeing someone create a stereo-mono switch from scratch, which may be similar enough to adapt). I also thought of looking for a vintage selector from that time period instead, but most of them have an insane amount of inputs and an insane price to go along with it. I feel the only pre made option might be audiophile catered and quite expensive. I'd like to keep costs as low as possible and end up with at least 2-3 inputs to select between. I would appreciate any insight on this, thanks.

2. JohnO

JohnO Senior Member

3. Not sure if this is what you"re after. Mapletree Audio Line Router, can be customised to your requirements. I've been using one for about 12 years now .
    My router has two inputs and 4 outputs .