Looking to upgrade. What's the weakest link in my system?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dennis1077, Jun 18, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dennis1077

dennis1077 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I finally have some extra cash and I'm looking to upgrade. What would an experienced audiophile consider the weakest link in my humble/budget system?

My current setup consists of:

Receiver: Onkyo TX-8020
    CD Player: Marantz CD5004
    Turntable: Pro-Ject Debut III
    Cartridge: Ortofon OM10
    Phone Preamp: Cambridge Solo Phono
    Tower Speakers: Polk R-50
    Bookshelf Speakers: Pioneer SP-BS22-LR Andrew Jones

I'm no expert, but doesn't conventional wisdom dictate that the speaker upgrade should come first? Then again, maybe a nice integrated amp would do wonders for my current speakers! Anyway, I'd love to hear advice before pulling the trigger!

2. DPM

DPM Senior Member

I'd move up to an OM 20 or OM 30 stylus before doing anything else.

3. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

Better speakers will have the greatest effect on sound. If you like Andrew Jones' designs look at his newer ELAC models. The Debut Reference looks like it would be worth an audition.

After you upgrade speakers I would look into an RCM if you don't have one, then maybe a better stylus for your OM cart.

doctor fuse and dennis1077 like this.
  4. dennis1077

I DO like the Andrew Jones speakers and have heard wonderful things about the Debut Reference. I'm also considering the Wharfedale Diamond 225. They retail for $449.99 but are on sale for $299.99.

Does RCM stand for record cleaning machine?

5. Boltman92124

Boltman92124 Go Padres!!

Budget?

6. dennis1077

$500. If buying a pair of bookshelf speakers, that budget would also need to include stands.

7. irender

irender Forum Resident