Lost mind - bought a Shure V15 Type IV...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by rebellovw, Mar 9, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rebellovw

rebellovw Forum Resident Thread Starter

I always wanted a V15 - even as a kid in the 70s. Anyhow - been mulling it over and pulled the trigger on a nicely packaged one. Splurged a little to get a nice original box and a decent looking stylus and body - almost bought a body for 100 bucks - but only 100 more for complete nice looking unit - what the heck.

Anyhow - wish me luck. I have 3 arms to try this on - target will be VPI 3D arm. Eventually I'll go Jico SAS.

Hopefully not a mistake:
    Shure V15 Type IV Cartridge With Original Box In Excellent Condition | eBay

Thanks,

[​IMG]

2. ssmith3046

ssmith3046 Forum Resident

Nice. I've been using V-15 III's since 1973. I've never owned a IV but I'm sure you'll enjoy it. Jico also makes great elliptical and hyper elliptical styli for the III but I'm not sure about the type IV.

Jimi Floyd, MCM_Fan and rebellovw like this.
  3. rebellovw

Yeah - the SAS is pretty expensive - I should likely get one now vs waiting too long.

MCM_Fan likes this.
  4. Gibsonian

Gibsonian Forum Resident

IV is considered the best of V15 by many.

clevice, cjc, MCM_Fan and 1 other person like this.
  5. Wngnt90

Wngnt90 Forum Resident

I hear no differences between my two V15 III's and V15 IV which are all equipped with a Jico SAS. Probably would hear some subtle differences if one was to use their oem styli.

sushimaster and rebellovw like this.
  6. ssmith3046

I bought a SAS several years ago, the boron one, and at first I really liked it. It brings out a lot of detail but after using it for several months I missed the fullness that the elliptical stylus brings. The Jico elliptical is about as close as you can get to the original Shure sound in my opinion. I finally settled on the hyper elliptical stylus because to my ears it's a nice blend of the SAS and elliptical.