Magic Sam- Appreciation

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by KankRat, Jan 28, 2020.

1. KankRat

KankRat Forum Resident Thread Starter

Greetings. I am a resident of the Chicago area and an enthusiast of blues music, especially guitar. I was "turned on to" the blues by Stevie Ray Vaughn in the 80's.
    In the Blues Brothers movie, Jake (John Belushi) introduces the song Sweet Home Chicago, "This is dedicated to the late great Magic Sam".
    Not enough talk out there about Samuel Gene Maghett aka Magic Sam, so I want to spread the good word with what limited knowledge I have. Please share your constructive thoughts, links. listening advice etc.
    Honestly there is not boatloads of information on him. Most of the recordings I have heard so far are remarkably awful sound wise. But musically, just crazy great. Parts are just goosebumps.
    Here is the wiki link to who he is.
    Magic Sam - Wikipedia
    Dig this its EPIC,

This instrumental track he is known for, "Sam's Boogie".

This crazy. How I actually found out about Magic Sam. I noodle on guitar myself (not well) and I fancy the likes of Joe Satriani, Eric Johnson etc and all those guys talk about the blues and playing with economy.
    somehow I got onto a video of a guitar clinic with Paul Gilbert, a known shred guy from the 80's .
    Personally I find this whole video entertaining but if you want to get to the part where he starts talking about blues guys it's around 7:50 ish. The BB King finger part is funny.
    Paul Gilbert at Supatone
    More talk about Sam. This is the guy who recently wrote the book about SRV. Mostly a guitar tutorial but some interesting stuff. He is a smokin guitar player himself.
    How to Play like Chicago Blues Legend Magic Sam
    Lastly, it kind of struck me Magic Sam is burried so close, along with many other notable names (like Muddy) to where I sit. It's 3 towns over maybe 6 miles
    Restvale Cemetery - Wikipedia
    Sam died 50 years ago on December 1.