My A Love Supreme Vinyl Shootout - Budget Edition

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Clucking, Apr 11, 2020.

1. Clucking

Clucking Elixir of Life Thread Starter

Inspired by Guy Gadbois ‘Zep shootout... this has been on my to-do list for months. I have two budget-copies of A Love Supreme that are, I would say, both recommended and pretty good. If/when there is a repress of the AP, or a copy of the Speakers Corner comes along, I’ll grab those, but until then, i have:

1) early 80s rainbow-label MCA from Japan: John Coltrane - A Love Supreme

and

2) mid-90’s Impulse mastered by Wally Traugott: John Coltrane - A Love Supreme

Both sound good, but yay there is a clear winner here, and its the Wally. The MCA is what i had been listening to for the past five years and I had been pretty happy with it since it bested my old CD by a mile, but back to back with the Wally the soundstage of the MCA seemed *very* constricted, and the instruments on the Wally much more natural and realistic. The Wally definitely had the highs rolled off a bit, at least in comparison to the MCA which had the highs very high (actually the shrillness had always been my one complaints), so another plus for the Wally in my book. The Wally, yes, probably digital, but it will be my new go-to until I can get my hands on one of those killer audiophile pressings you all have.

2. Clucking

Here are some pics to go with the above:

Japanese MCA

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Impulse (Wally Traugott - sorry the pic of his deadwax signature is upsidedown)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

3. Leonthepro

Leonthepro Skeptically Optimistic

You should have updated the people on Discogs man, I hate it when people never follow up.

4. Clucking

I made that discogs post iterally last month. I have a life.

5. Leonthepro

Okay? Im just saying theres no point in making a post saying you will compare and never reporting back later, its just clutter and leaves people hanging.

6. astro70

astro70 Forum Resident