Neal Morse Appreciation Thread - A Guide for Beginners and Fans

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by raimiz1991inc, Apr 14, 2020.

1. raimiz1991inc

raimiz1991inc Forum Resident Thread Starter

This is a project I was focusing on for a long time and never got a chance to finish it, so due to obvious circumstances, now was the chance to make it happen.
    A little back story first: I've been listening to prog almost exclusively for almost seven or eight years now, mostly classic stuff, and began to naturally wonder if there is any modern stuff that's worth a listen. I later came across three key bands that I owe enormous gratitude that made me rediscover the genre and gave me a new purpose for discovering music (not to mention opened a few other doors that lead me to discover other amazing bands) and some of the most beautiful musical moments I have ever experienced: The Flower Kings, Spock's Beard/Neal Morse and Pain of Salvation. Three bands which I think don't receive the accolades they deserve and whose musical output is unlike anything I've ever seen or heard of before.

Eventually all three will get their appreciation thread here, but I wanted to focus this time on Neal Morse and The Neal Morse Band body of work. That means that other bands such as Transatlantic, Flying Colors and maybe Yellow Matter Custard (Beatles tribute band) deserve a separate thread, in my opinion. I also believe another thread for Spock's Beard (both Neal and post-Neal eras) is a must at this point, so I'll try to get started on that one soon as well.