Need Preamp Advice for a Marantz 8B

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Charger, Mar 4, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Charger

Charger Forum Resident Thread Starter

I am just getting into tubes and I picked up a Marantz 8B to build a tube system. I know that it would probably be best to match it with a Marantz 7C preamp but that is a little out of my budget right now. What would be a good tube preamp match for this amp. I would like to keep within the $500 - $1,000 price range. Is it better to stick with vintage preamps or are there some modern ones in this price range that would work well? I will be using the system to listen to classic rock and jazz.

Thanks, Mike

2. Charger

I would like the preamp to include a phono stage as well.

Mike

3. Stax Fan

Stax Fan Forum Resident

It's generally best to keep vintage with vintage. A quicker modern tube preamp probably isn't the ideal complement for a slower vintage tube amp, although there might be some out there that would work out. I'd say keep that cool vintage sound, then if you want something faster later on, go all modern.

Consider a McIntosh MX110. That oughta be a good combo. Has a decent MM phono stage, too. You ought be able to find a good MX110 for about $1000.

Nice amp you've got there. :)

4. Charger

Thanks for the recommendation Arin. The McIntosh MX110 is not one I had thought about. I'll do a little research and see what they're going for.

Mike

5. audio

audio New Member

A friend of mine swears by Scott preamps with the Marantz 8b. He's currently trying to get my Scott 130 from me, but no deal has been made as of yet. You may want to take a look at my vintage tube gear ad in the classified section. If you are interested, send me a PM.

Attached Files:

6. Gary

Gary Nauga Gort! Staff

If you are looking at getting a Marantz in the future, you may want to go "cheap" now. I wonder if a Bottlehead "Foreplay" would match - or be cheap enuf?

7. Damián