Needing some help to decide on a brand Yamaha, Pioneer, Sansui or other:

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by texasp1, Dec 5, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. texasp1

texasp1 Member Thread Starter

I am looking to buy a vintage stereo receiver and since y'all are the experts on this equipment. I know y'all will give me some great advice. I do have a Technics SL-D303 turntable, and a Sherwood RX-5502 Receiver. I would really would like to get a very nice Receiver from the 70's in the middle range. I can't really afford the top but something that is not only beautiful to look at but something I will appreciate for years to come. Also need some speakers, but what I don't know. I'm really new to all of this so any help would be appreciated and thank you. Oh I'm looking spend about no more than 400.00 on receiver and speakers.

2. McLover

McLover Senior Member

Buy a Sansui 4000 receiver in top condition, buy a nice pair of Dynaco A 25 loudspeakers in top condition, enjoy it for life.

3. Nomadicarchivist

Nomadicarchivist Forum Resident

At that price point a Pioneer 780 and a couple nice speakers will do the trick for ya

4. TarnishedEars

TarnishedEars Forum Resident

The problem with your request is that vintage receivers require a pretty thorough recapping or they often won't continue to operate properly for all that long. If you want to go the vintage route, I would only consider recapped specimens.

rodentdog, FJosh, gd0 and 3 others like this.
  5. Nomadicarchivist

I dunno. I have been doing the thrift shop thing and snagging vintage units for the last 5 yeara or so. Never had to re cap my Pioneer 780 or 880 but then again I have only had to invest $40 a pop or so..

I did find a Sansui G-6000 that needed a lot of work on it from the get go. $300 and nearly a total recap later and it sounds like a dream..

6. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker