Off center vinyl pressing

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Tom Holvey, Aug 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tom Holvey

Tom Holvey Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've just bought the AP Pet Sounds 200g vinyl and I noticed that the record label at the centre is slightly off centre. Watching the cartridge there's a slight side-to-side movement as it tracks the record. The record sounds fine but I'm the kind of person who gets annoyed by the little things:mad: Is a little side-to-side movement normal when tracking a record (I'm pretty new to vinyl)? I've contacted the store I bought it from and they are willing to give me another copy I'm just a bit worried that I'm overthinking it and the record is in fact fine...

AutomatedElectronics likes this.
  2. Gaslight

Gaslight ⎧⚍⎫⚑

"The record sounds fine".

I think you answered your own question. Some people are very OCD about off-center records, but imo if it's sounds OK then that's all I would personally care about.

polchik, Exotiki, willboy and 3 others like this.
  3. Tom Holvey

Yeah its just a bit annoying paying £35 for a brand new record that isn't perfect, I want to return it to hopefully get a perfect copy but the more I think about it, as the store I bought it from is a local record shop the pressings they have surely are all from the same pressing cycle, so is probable that all their copies will be the same as mine (slightly off centre)?

Satrus and Jim in Houston like this.
  4. The Lone Cadaver

The Lone Cadaver Bass & Keys Cadaver

Some useless trivia. When the soundtrack from Quadrophenia was first released I purchased one at Preston Records in Dallas. The holes were punched off-center. I took it back and got another copy. Same thing. I bought another copy at Discount Records. Same thing. Apparently all the record stores in Dallas had received their from the same faulty shipment. As I understand it all the stores returned them. Finally got a good copy two weeks later.