Older recording engineers should retire. Your opinion?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Stabby, Apr 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Stabby

Stabby Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm an audiology student and since I've learned about age-related hearing loss (presbycusis) I'm thinking that older (65+) recording engineers just can't do a great job anymore.

Presbycusis happens to everyone and can't be avoided. It's a progressive hearing loss that first affects the high frequencies. This loss is not at all noticable in understanding speech. I have tested people with a 50dB hearing loss at 6-8kHz and they don't have a single problem understanding speech, even in difficult listening situations.

Eventually presbycusis will affect the middle frequencies as well leading to problems with understanding speech. The following graph is a bit exaggerated, but it's the best I could find:

[​IMG]

Everyone's hearing is affected this way with age. The process will be slower in some people than others, but no one escapes it.

Older sound engineer should at least have a hearing test and take a look at their own audiogram to see how it affects their job. It takes 15 minutes and it gives a lot of important information. I'm thinking of a certain 87-year-old engineer who should have done this 15 years ago.

2. noname74

noname74 Allegedly Canadian

Is it still April 1st in Belgium?

3. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.

Hearing is everything, but knowledge is power. This is what a lot of young engineers don't have, especially of old formats and technology, circumstances or research already done.

Not a very nice thread to start off with though.

4. yasujiro

yasujiro Senior Member

:laugh: Seems so.

5. TheRimeOfIcarus

TheRimeOfIcarus Active Member

He has a point. It's very unlikely someone over the age of 50 can distinguish 15-17kHz and above. That's why second opinions are always good, even though they're just opinions.

6. Jim B.