Opitimum Record Level for Reel Tape?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Bob Lovely, May 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bob Lovely

Bob Lovely Super Gort In Memoriam Thread Starter

Friends,

I have been recording on Reel tape since I was 15 years old. Of course, over the years the "tape" has changed drastically. I began recording on Scotch 111 in 1966 and I now use EMTEC 900. "900" is a professional grade, high output formula tape.

For the most part, my recording skills have been self-taught as a hobbyist. I have been re-thinking my recording and mastering techniques as result of this Forum and the resultant subtle changes have enhanced the sound quality of my recordings.

Question: What is the proper record levels for professional quality, high output formula tape? With the "900", I have been recording with the highest peaks levels at +10 VU. Through trial and error, I discovered this record level produces powerful recordings while keeping the noise floor less noticeable on playback. I never use any type of noise reduction.

I am now questioning the wisdom of this approach. Any input from those who use a Reel deck either as a hobbyist or as a professional is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Bob:)

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Now you're asking? After 38 years? Heh.

+10 is higher than they hit the meters for mixing "Who's Next"! Gee whiz. (The British engineers never used Dolby A if they could help it, they just banged the meters at +10 and compressesd right on the spot; better than a limiter and the noise level was low--- "Never A Dull Moment" is like this.)

Your non-pro machine is probably saturating the tape at +3! Back off the meters and just have an occasional peak at +3 otherwise you are compressing the whole thing. Take it from one who knows and has made the same mistake.

Now on an Ampex ATR-100 you could probably bang the meters at +6 with no ill effect.