Oppo 83 SE and SACD playback

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Percivale, Feb 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Percivale

Percivale Active Member Thread Starter

Hello Everybody

I am an owner of 83 SE model. (Bought second –hand, not so long ago).
    I would like to purchase some SACD discs, however I have some doubts about the quality of their playback on Oppo 83se. I mean stereo SACDs. I have tested some multi- channel sacds and they seem to sound quite good to me but I have no experience in this matter and I cannot compare to other Hi Fi equipment.

This model has received fairly good reviews, but none of them clearly indicates what is the quality of SACD playback in comparison to other players.

Therefore, could anyone please write how the quality of SACD (mainly stereo) playback on Oppo 83 SE can be compared to other audiophile sacd players?

I wouldn’t like to invest in rather expensive discs if the quality is not satisfactory.

Moreover, I was also thinking about the purchase of HD tracks 24/192. However, I don’t know how to play them on Oppo. I read that the only possible way is to convert such flacs into waves and make a DVD –audio disc by means of some software.
    The question is here again about the quality. Has anyone ever played 24/192 waves on Oppo 83 SE? If so, could you share your views on this matter (what way and what effect?).

To sum it up: does it make sense to buy stereo sacds or 24/192 flacs to play them on Oppo 83SE?

I will be very grateful for any comment.
    Best Regards
    Tom

Last edited: Feb 20, 2014
  2. Synthfreek

Synthfreek I’m a ray of sunshine & bastion of positivity

I'm sorry but I can't comment because I only have a regular BDP-83.

3. Kal Rubinson

Kal Rubinson Senior Member