Phono Stages

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Dougthesnail, Dec 15, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dougthesnail

Dougthesnail The Big Gabagool Thread Starter

I currently use a phono stage on my integrated HT amp and I'd like to upgrade. I have limited experience with Phono stages, aside from the excellent Graham Slee loaner program. Unfortunately the currency conversion makes them to cost prohibitive to purchase. I'm strictly seeking MM pre-amps but dual capability is welcome! Also Some open to used & vintage options. Interesting products I've looked at
    1) Project Phono Box RS
    2) Project Tube Box DS
    3) Vincent Pho 701
    4) Mofi StudioPhono
    5) Schiit Mani

2. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

I had the SP and the Mani at various points. Of those I would only recommend the SP, and then only for certain cartridges with output 4mV or below. If you need a cheap phono preamp get an Art DJ Pre, then save your pennies for a better one later.

I do not like Pro-Ject or Vincent products and wouldn't personally recommend them.

doctor fuse and Phil Thien like this.
  3. dconsmack

dconsmack Senior Member

MoFi StudioPhono is excellent. I recommend this preamp to everyone looking for a flexible, high quality, and great sounding phono stage that’s affordable. It has a mono switch and a sub sonic filter. IMO these two features are critical and I can’t believe they’re not standard features on all phono stages - especially expensive ones. The input capacitance is reasonably low too - 100pF, which you want to take in to consideration for modern MM cartridges since they like low capacitance.

4. slovell

slovell Retired Mudshark

AVA Vision Q MM/MC sounds very good.

5. Dougthesnail

Not necessarily looking for "cheap" but maybe in the $300-700 range

6. Tayfur Gunay

Tayfur Gunay Active Member