POLL: What is your favourite live Genesis album?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by SlimLee, Feb 16, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SlimLee

SlimLee Forum Resident Thread Starter

During the series of Genesis studio album elimination polls, run by @Rfreeman over the past few weeks, I had the idea to find out what the SHF's favourite LIVE Genesis album is.

So feel free to cast your vote, and be sure to let us know your choice in the discussion below. I'm pretty new to the band's live albums myself, so I'm curious to see how this goes. Happy voting!

2. Ringmaster_D

Ringmaster_D Surfer of Sound Waves

Seconds Out!

3. "Genesis Live"

Honorable Mention: "Seconds Out"

danielbravo likes this.
  4. Oatsdad

Oatsdad Oat, Biscuits, Abbie & Mitzi: Best Dogs Ever

"3 Sides". That's the Genesis period I like best...

5. Dr. Funk

Dr. Funk Vintage Dust

Seconds Out.........with Genesis Live coming in second. :edthumbs:

DME1061 likes this.
  6. Parachute Woman

Parachute Woman Forum Resident

Genesis Live.

I never liked Seconds Out as much as other fans seem to and I don't care for any of their other live stuff.

MicSmith, lightbulb and linclink like this.
  7. MicSmith

MicSmith Forum Resident

Genesis Live, despite the absence of SR this is still a superb document of the band very much on the rise.

Seconds Out is an OK representation of the final 2 tours with Hackett but I much prefer hearing PG singing the songs from his era and some of the choices from 76/77 were not my favourites. And that extended version of IKWIL doesn't work - the song is about someone who is introverted and Collins chose that song to act up his part by doing his tambourine thing - too showbiz. Cinema Show is its high watermark though - just a brilliant version.

Three Sides Live - very poor album sleeve, content not really my era. Side 4 on the UK version is worth having though.