Post Your Successful Hi-Res Amazon HD Setup

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by sjsanford, Sep 25, 2019.

  1. sjsanford

    sjsanford Forum Resident Thread Starter

    Location:
    USA
    Use this thread to post hardware & software setups where you have confirmed you got Amazon HD to work with bit-perfect full-resolution (24/192).

    Indicate all items in your chain, including what platform the Amazon app is on, any extra software, player, DAC, connects, etc.

    Also note if your setup is working for downloaded files, streaming, or both.

    (To discuss Amazon HD service in general, including setup questions, feature updates, rants, raves, etc, use the existing thread here: Amazon HD Music goes live )
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
    33na3rd, 2veg and btltez like this.
  2. MrEWhite

    MrEWhite Forum Resident

    Location:
    United States
    DAC: Pro-Ject Pre Box S2 Digital (set to 24/192 in Windows) w/ Schiit Wyrd, connected to each other and to my PC through PYST USB cables
    Amplifier: Schiit Asgard 3 connected to the DAC with PYST RCA cables
    Headphones: Audio Technica ATH-R70x

    Streams all of the 24/192 albums I've tried perfectly fine, and if I want exclusive mode, I can feed it through JRiver with WDM.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
  3. CaptainVans

    CaptainVans New Member

    Location:
    Texas
    DAC - Fiio E07K Andes
    Headphones - Audio-Technica ATH-MSR7

    Works successfully on a Windows PC and on an iPhone 6 using a Lighthing to USB Camera Adapter.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. britt2001b

    britt2001b Forum Resident

    Location:
    Mississippi
    I'm feeding the audio through the JRiver Wasapi driver and the settings display seem to confirm this. Although, I'm not sure if it is in the Exclusive mode. As you can see from the display that "No changes are being made" which I believe indicates that it is bit perfect. If someone with more knowledge than I see's this differently, please correct me.


    [​IMG]
     
  5. allegro

    allegro Well-Known Member

    Location:
    USA
    Are sample rate and bit depth played changing automatically on the Pro-Ject with different files? Or if you play a 16/44 song is it still being upsampled to 24/192?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2019
  6. Bungo

    Bungo Forum Resident

    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    As far as I can tell, it's working correctly with Bluesound Node 2i via the BluOS app for both macOS and iOS. But there doesn't appear to be any way to view the sample rate and bit depth.

    [​IMG]
     
    vinylbeat, PATB and timind like this.
  7. allegro

    allegro Well-Known Member

    Location:
    USA
    I think that is because Amazon Music HD service is now supported by the BluOS app so if a HD version of a song is available BluOS is supposed to play it at the highest quality. That won't happen with DACs that are not supported as far as I understand. That's why enabling exclusive mode is needed for most of us.
     
  8. Tom Favata

    Tom Favata tbuick6

    Location:
    New York
    I have a Project Prebox DAC and it is upsampling everything to 24/192 on the Amazon App. Roon, Tidal and JRiver apps correctly play files at their native sample and bitrates. We will have this problem until Amazon implements exclusive mode.
     
    TonyCzar likes this.
  9. fluffskul

    fluffskul Forum Resident

    Location:
    albany, ny
    MacBook Pro —>audioquest USB —> Marantz sa8005.

    Seems easy enough.
     
  10. JayDog

    JayDog New Member

    Location:
    Chicago
    iPhone 11 Pro Max
    Fiio Q1 Mark 2
    3.5 mm to 2 male rca adapter
     
  11. BZ58

    BZ58 Well-Known Member

    Location:
    Florida
    Amplification: Denon AVR-X1400H AV Receiver
    Headphone System: Audeze LCD-3 Headphone, Audeze Deckard headphone amp, JDS Labs El DAC
    Speaker System: KEF Q350
    Music Storage System: iMAC, JRiver Media Center

    iMac / JDS Labs El DAC --> RCA out / --> RCA in Denon AVR-X1400H AV Receiver

    As you can see here I'm using the RCA out from the DAC to RCA in to the AVR. I have the AVR set to "analog" input to enable the sound through the RCA inputs in the AVR, as pictured below.

    I can see when pulling up the info in the desktop app of Amazon Music that track quality is 24 bit / 192 kHz and currently playing at is also 24 bit / 192 kHz.

    Question is, when using the RCA inputs, is the track really playing at 24 bit / 192 kHz?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2019
  12. The Dude Abides

    The Dude Abides Strikes and gutters, ups and downs.

    Location:
    England
    Amazon Music HD

    Macbook Air 2015 Using Wifi

    iFi Nano IDSD Black Label

    Integrated amp

    No issues setting up Mac Midi outputs.

    No issues with playback up to 24/192.

    Sounds Fabulous.

    Also works great with my Sonos Connect but obviously only to redbook quality
     
    BZ58 likes this.
  13. BZ58

    BZ58 Well-Known Member

    Location:
    Florida
    iMac / JDS Labs El DAC --> RCA out / --> RCA in Denon AVR-X1400H AV Receiver

    I had asked the question, when using the RCA inputs, is the track really playing at 24 bit / 192 kHz?
    I think I answered my own question with a little research. DAC is an abbreviation of digital-to-analog converter. So using RCA out from the DAC to RCA in to the AVR it should be getting 24 bit / 192 kHz.
     
    The Dude Abides likes this.
  14. Hab

    Hab Forum Resident

    Location:
    Walsall
    Bluesound Node 2>Audiolab M-DAC, works perfectly. Bitrate is shown on screen.
     
    sheffandy likes this.
  15. sjsanford

    sjsanford Forum Resident Thread Starter

    Location:
    USA
    That's right... the holy grail is preserving the world length (bits) and sample rate (kHz) and all bits unmolested through the whole digital domain, from stored file to distribution/stream/download to delivery to the DAC. Once it hits the DAC, the digital may stay that way, or get up/down sampled, but then once it reaches the analog stage in the DAC, the word length and sample rate part of the party is over.
     
  16. ishmaelk

    ishmaelk Forum Resident

    Location:
    Madrid
    Can the Bluesound stream Amazon HD?
     
  17. MattG

    MattG Unreliable Narrator

    Location:
    Maryland
    Yes, but you have to go through the Bluesound app, add Amazon Music as a service, enter your credentials and navigate through there. It's kind of clunky but you get the Hi Res.
     
  18. MattG

    MattG Unreliable Narrator

    Location:
    Maryland
    My setup is Bluesound Node 2i -> Coax out -> Parasound Halo Integrated. I snagged a Rega DAC-R on Audiogon and will be adding that into the chain when it gets here.
     
    timind likes this.
  19. Boltman92124

    Boltman92124 Gratefully Listening

    Location:
    San Diego
    If you don't mind, can you tell me how you load the Amazon stream into JRiver?? Thanks!
     
  20. allegro

    allegro Well-Known Member

    Location:
    USA
  21. Boltman92124

    Boltman92124 Gratefully Listening

    Location:
    San Diego
  22. MrEWhite

    MrEWhite Forum Resident

    Location:
    United States
    No, you just use JRiver as the output.
     
  23. Boltman92124

    Boltman92124 Gratefully Listening

    Location:
    San Diego
    @allegro 's pics are of the JRiver interface though?
     
  24. MrEWhite

    MrEWhite Forum Resident

    Location:
    United States
    lpc is the WDM output.
     
  25. allegro

    allegro Well-Known Member

    Location:
    USA
    Using WDM in JRiver strikes me as a band aid: a temp fix. Amazon needs to spend the time to incorporate Wasapi exclusive mode same as Qobuz. I can hope they open their API to Roon and Audirvana but am not holding my breath. I suspect I will have to just let my 3 month free trial run out. I speculate they are not even going after audio enthusiasts who care enough about sound quality to already use Qobuz.
     
    Kyhl, sharedon and britt2001b like this.

Share This Page