Question about bookshelf speaker

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by cavalerox, Feb 27, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cavalerox

cavalerox New Member Thread Starter

Hello everyone,

I am ready to buy my first music system that I always wanted to own but I have very little knowledge about this topic , and I would truly appreciate if you can advise me about my 3 questions below. I will give you some feedback : mainly I listen to new age and instrumental music , and some snyth pop stuff …I will not play heavy metal, rap, or country music etc… I watch very little tv and I don’t care about tv either but would like to connect the tv to my music system. What I really care is the quality of the sound (just like all of us) . I don’t listen to music very loud, and I don’t blast them all the way, but I don’t keep the level very low either.

My questions:

1) The amplifier that I am planning to buy is Denon AVR S-750H . I chose this brand and model for 2 reasons. The price is extremely good at Costco ($399) and I heard only good things about the brand and this model . Is this product something that I can use for many years, or will this break down like some other amplifiers within a few years?

2) I wrote above my music preference, and I want to buy 2 good quality bookshelf speakers. My maximum budget is $800 to $1000 (for the pair) and not more (or perhaps 2 bookshelf speaker and one subwoofer). I checked several websites and came up with the following brands:

Audioengine A5 , Audioengine HD6 , KEF Q100 , KEF Q350 , SVS prime , SVS ultra , Klipsch RP-160M , Klipsch RP-600M , Klipsch The Sixes , Dynaudio XEO 2 , Definitive Technology SM65 , Definitive Technology D11

Which speaker would you recommend based on the music type I like, and how compatible these speakers are to the Denon amplifier I wrote above? If you do not like any of them, do you have any recommendation for me?