Question about old Time-Life series?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by frank3si, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. frank3si

frank3si Forum Resident Thread Starter

One of my dark secrets when I was a guitarist in a punk band in the 1980s was my fascination with big band music. I was working 9PM to 9AM three nights a week in Philadelphia, and got into listening to a small station from the Jersey shore that played nothing but big band music. It was like a time warp!

Anyway, I wanted to get some material and eventually decided on the then-new Time-Life series of just-under 30 double albums. Years later the series was re-released on CD.

Flash forward to 2010 and I've just acquired a Music Hall turntable. After running though an assortment of '70s-and-newer material, this weekend I listened to some of this Time-Life vinyl. I was amazed at how great it sounded. Some of the tracks were obviously sourced from discs, as there is some crackle that disappears between the songs, but overall I was really impressed by the clarity and how easy it was to distinguish individual instruments and groupings in the arrangements.

While each set has really extensive liner notes covering personnel and original sessions, and each song's full details of original release information by label and catalog number, there is little on how these sets were assembled.

Does anyone know how this project, based on old material, was approached, and the challenges that were dealt with? How is Time-Life of this late 70s-early 80s era regarded on archival vinyl projects like this?

2. frank3si

3. I have all of those and they smoke the competition.

When they came into the store I listened to one and took all of them home -
    NOT FOR SALE (laughing). Too good to give up.

4. frank3si