Question about scratches on records

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Acedsha, Dec 8, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Acedsha

Acedsha Member Thread Starter

Hello everyone! This is my first time asking a question on here. I've been collecting and listening to vinyl for about 2 years now. Recently I have noticed that most of my records have small surface scratches on them. Long and short hairline scratches. They don't affect play though as far as I can tell. I try to keep my records clean and in as good of condition as I can. I buy most records new and immediately remove them from their paper sleeves to MoFi sleeves. Is this normal or is something causing it? Would it have originally been caused by the paper sleeves or is it something I am doing? The only thing I could think of is the old Discwasher D4 I use but I don't think it is that.

2. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

It could be the D4. Are you using the fluid? Using it dry could accumulate dust into a pile. The brush wouldn't scratch the record, but the pile of dust cold be abrasive. Using the fluid would help suspend the dust above the record surface. Without the fluid, you could be grinding into the records surface.

I do have an old D4 brush. I hardly ever use it. But it's better than anything else I have for picking up a hair off the surface of a record. I don't use the fluid, it's long gone. I've never noticed any abrasions from using it, but my records are vacuum cleaned before I play them. So dust is almost never an issue.

Acedsha likes this.
  3. Acedsha

Acedsha Member Thread Starter

Oh okay. Thanks i appreciate your reply. I try to use the fluid most of the time. It is the original one that came with the brush. I also clean my records with a microfiber cloth with distilled water. I was looking at the scratches a little more closely and the scratches are not in the direction that the brush would go. Some are parallel to the groves. So I am very puzzled