R Speaker Hum

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by grantbarrick, Jul 11, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grantbarrick

grantbarrick Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I'm very new to this, so apologies in advance if this should be simple. I did a quick (not exhaustive search ) which helped me rule out some things, but still unable to clean it up.

I have a very noticeable hum coming out of my R speaker when I get the volume to about 80 db - increases dramatically as volume increases. Sounds totally fine otherwise (to my ears).

I am running:
    AT-LP-120
    Ortofon 2M Blue
    Marantz NR1510
    Golden Ear 5s
    Blue Jean Cables

I have tried switching channels and the issue remains in the R speaker, so I assume it is the speaker itself. But, also wondering what the limitations of placement are? That speaker is more "boxed in" with my turntable not far away from it and a post to the R of the line between speaker and listening position. It is also close(ish) to the outlet running everything (~3-4 feet). I am wondering if anyone has had issues with that as well.

Thoughts?

Much appreciation for any guidance....

2. Drew769

Drew769 Buyer of s*** I never knew I lacked

Do those speakers have powered subwoofers? If so, if the power cord for the R speaker plugged into the same outlet as the rest of your equipment? You could have a ground loop issue. I had this with my speakers which have powered subs onboard.

If that wasn’t the issue..,

When you say switching channels, did you move the speaker cables R to L? Did you check all of your speaker connections to make sure the wires are properly seated/secured?

3. grantbarrick

The subwoofer in the speaker isn't powered, although it is paired w a SVS powered subwoofer. I id mean switching R&L, and did check speaker connections.