RCA Elvis Deletions?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Roland Stone, Jul 28, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Roland Stone

Roland Stone Offending Member Thread Starter

I just received a list of Elvis Presley titles that are being deleted by RCA. Basically, it's everything except the new TODAY TOMORROW & FOREVER, ARTIST OF THE CENTURY, and VEGAS boxes. (There may be a few more, but I'm not an expert.) Even recent titles like the PLATINUM box and PRIVATE ELVIS HOME RECORDINGS are being deleted: 90 titles by my count!

Does anyone know what's happening? What are they going to be replaced with? Obviously RCA can't go long without Elvis product in the stores.

2. Cousin It

Cousin It Senior Member

I was amazed to find out that BMG U.K deleted the new Elvis single when it was at its 4th week at No.1 so they could promote something else. Incredible:confused:

3. RDK

RDK Active Member

Maybe they're getting ready to remaster and reissue everything in SACD in a way that makes sense.

Oh, and maybe they'll hire Steve to do the honors.

And maybe Elvis IS still alive and working at the Dairy Queen in downtown Peoria....

;)

4. guy incognito

guy incognito Senior Member

5. Claus

Claus Senior Member

He will join to the german telecommunication company T-Online.

6. Roland Stone

Another Thought

I don't think the massive deletion program could involve, say, a contract squabble with the Elvis Presley estate. And I don't think it could involve moving his catalog to another label.

It's my understanding that RCA owns the rights to the Elvis catalog lock-stock-and-barrel into perpetuity, sold to them by Tom Parker some time ago for what now looks like a paltry sum, $5 million or something like that.

7. Grant

Grant Life is a rock, but the radio rolled me!

My only concern here is what they plan to do with the catalog.

8. feinstein

feinstein Member