Rega Brio (2017) or Saga+ & Vidar?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Paimon, Jun 11, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paimon

Paimon Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello all,

I'm new here, though I've been browsing for the better part of a year (you guys helped me in choosing a new turntable, so thanks!) . I'm currently in the process of upgrading my old system and the last piece of gear I need to replace is my amp. My current setup is this:

Rega Planar 3 with Nagaoka mp110
    Schiit Mani
    NAD 7140
    Klipsch RP160m's

While I like my NAD, it's starting to really show its age (phono section crapped out, thus the mani purchase). So I'm looking to get either a decent integrated amp or enter the world of separates. As of now, I'm looking at the Rega Brio 2017 or the Saga+ and Vidar. However, I have no experience with passive preamps, so I was wondering if the Saga would be the better fit as opposed to the brio? I tend to enjoy a more full bodied sound as I mainly listen to metal, so having some weight to the music is important to me. The system is in a moderate sized bedroom and I listen near field (about 6 or 7 feet away from speakers).

I'm not ruling out a Freya+ either, however I have no experience with tube gear. If there's another integrated or separate combo under $2000 that may fit better though I'm open to suggestions.

2. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

Get a Brio and sell the Mani.
    -Bill

dbsea, Rolltide and bhazen like this.
  3. Paimon

+1 for the brio. I suppose synergy is something to take into account seeing as I have a rega TT. How good is the phono stage on the brio?

4. unclefred

unclefred Coastie with the Moastie

Enter the world of separates. Integrates are a compromise and although simpler do not offer the flexibility and easy changes to a system as it grows.

bever70 and Paimon like this.
  5. Paimon