Rega P3 (Ania) vs Clearaudio Concept

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Ben_pit, Oct 30, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ben_pit

Ben_pit Active Member Thread Starter

I’ve never owned a turntable but being a musician and composer I think it may be a good time to invest. There are so many ways to listen and appreciate music today i.e.: from SACD, CD to streaming music etc... I see the turntable another option to appreciate music in my living room. I am definitely not looking at purchasing thousands of LPs but more about quality and selecting specific recordings over time.

Right now I am considering either the Rega P3 and not the P6 simply because the former comes in white. What I may end up doing is change the cartridge to Ania (higher end cartridge) then get a phono pre-amp. On the other hand I am also considering Clearaudio Concept from Germany (they’ve a package which includes the platter, Tonearm and Concept MC cartridge), then purchase a nano phono pre-amp separately. Interesting to note you need to purchase an additional RCA cable from the phono pre-amp to your Receiver. It turns out the cable from Clearaudio cost 1000 SGD... I think I’ll get a cheaper cable... are there other cheaper alternatives/brands I could consider?

As I’ve read in a similar thread on this forum, they’re both good choices so end of the day I think it’s about personal choice and a connection with that product? One brand is British and the other German, both reputable brands.

What are your thoughts about these 2 options?

Thanks, newbie here!

2. Listen to both. Let your ears do all the hard work.

vinylontubes and Ben_pit like this.
  3. Ben_pit

Thanks will do!

4. Let us know which one you choose

Ben_pit likes this.
  5. Shiver

Shiver Forum Resident