Ringo

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Paul L., Jan 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul L.

Paul L. New Member Thread Starter

Steve,
    I think you've mentioned talking to George and Paul. Did Ringo ever talk to you, perhaps when you mastered "Ringo" for DCC?

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Back when I was an engineering intern at an LA radio station called KROQ, (this was in the 1970's), Ringo came in to visit on the air with a jock.

As the show progressed, Ringo got drunker and drunker, until one segment he just started swearing a blue streak. I mean really cutting loose. Saying F this and F that. It was funny, but shocking at the same time.

So, I had to cut him off. They bundled him out of there, before the FCC Police could find him and cut his tongue out.

I'm glad he is on the wagon!:)

3. Paul L.

Paul L. New Member Thread Starter

Sad story, but it looks like Ringo has put those days behind him.

The reason I asked, Steve, was it just seems strange that with the results you got on Paul's stuff and Ringo's, and I guess with George's awareness, that the Beatles catalog is the way it is.

I reread the 11/12/93 Goldmine article on Paul's remasters, which you must have hated, which features quotes from you and Peter Mew, and commentary by the writer about how you BOTH achieved excellent results. Mew sounds like a reasonable guy in the article. But the proof is in the listening. I'm not going to say Mew's stuff is horrible, but it certainly is inferior to yours.

So what gives? Is this a personality thing? Abbey Road doesn't want a hot-shot outsider from L.A. telling them how to do their business; Peter Mew was mastering LPs when you were just a kid?

You've proven you can do the work. So is it that the Beatles organization doesn't care about the sound quality when they can sell 10 or 20 million copies of "1" no matter how it sounds?