Schiit Mani or Lounge Audio LCR or continue with my receivers phono?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Audio73, Jan 27, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Audio73

Audio73 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I have a Music Hall Ikura turntable with a ortofon 2m blue cartridge connected to my Denon x4200 av receiver phono.
    I am a newbie to vinyl and need advice.
    Should I continue with my receiver phono or get the Schiit or Lounge?

2. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

What are you hoping to get out of the upgrade?

Do you live near radio and TV stations? If so, forget about the Mani.

RE: the Lounge, I never had one but was impressed with the level of customization that is available from the company. You may want to contact Lounge or look at one of the long Lounge threads for info on that.

In general, I think spending $250 or more on a phono stage should easily get you over and above whatever phono section might be in your receiver.

TheVinylAddict likes this.
  3. Benzion

Benzion "Cogito, ergo sum" Forum Resident

Lounge, hands down. And, while ordering from the owner - ask about the Silver upgrade. Worth every penny.

4. Audiobro

Audiobro Member

The input capacitance is a bit low on the Lounge if you are going to be continuing to use the 2M Blue. The 2M Blue's capacitance is between 150pf and 200pf, the Lounge is only 120pf. Also the load resistance is a bit high on the Lounge at 50K, the 2M Blue is at 47K. Although these are not way off, it will have an impact on the sound. You may want to consider a phono pre that has adjustable input capabilities, or one that is better suited for your cartridge.

5. ProfessorC1983

ProfessorC1983 Forum Resident