Sennheiser Headphone Advice

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Ryan Bedlack, Nov 23, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ryan Bedlack

Ryan Bedlack Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hey everyone,

Looking for a great set of headphones to listen to vinyl with on my home system. I have a pair of Sony WH-1000XM3's, and am looking to upgrade to a new set for Christmas (Sennheiser in particular), and came across the following:
    • Sennheiser HD 600 - $399
    • Sennheiser HD 660S - $399
    • Sennheiser HD 650 - $499
    Can anyone tell me some differences between them and make some recommendations? I've heard many conflicting opinions and was wondering how different from each other they really are.

2. jbmcb

jbmcb Forum Resident

I have no experience with the 660, but the main difference between the 600 and the 650 is the 650 has matched drivers.

I have a pair of Massdrop HD6XX and they sound very similar to my friend's HD-650s. Not *exactly* the same, buy *very* close. They usually sell for around $180, so that might be another option to look in to (the HD6XX are made by Sennheiser for Drop)

3. nomad709

nomad709 Forum Resident

Own all 3, HD660S by far are my favorite!

Power them with a Bryston BHA 1 and I find the 660s to do everything right in my listening. Very dynamic, intimate soundstage, mids are full with body and detail. They sound lively and smooth, very fun to listen to!

The HD600's are brighter cans in comparison, the highs sound bright and the mids/bass are a bit light lacking fullness. A more neutral flat sounding can. Struggles a bit with instrument separation within complex passages of music in my experience.

The HD650's are more bass heavy and have a thick sound signature to them that may make them sound veiled and lacking liveliness.

My preference

1. 660s
    2. 600
    3. 650

4. rodentdog

rodentdog Senior Member