Shopping for LPs and CDs in Atlanta, GA

Discussion in 'Music, Movie and Hardware Store Guide' started by vconsumer, Jun 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vconsumer

vconsumer Unapologetically 70s Thread Starter

I was in Atlanta for a few days last week. I made the mistake of stopping by Earwax Records. Not my cup of tea. I'll be going back soon and I'm looking for recommendations on good places in the Atlanta area to shop for music.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Eat More Records at the intersection of Sugarloaf Parkway and Five Forks Trickum Road in Lawrenceville is where I do most of my LP shopping. They have a great selection, everything's in top condition, and there's new stuff all the time.

For something less suburban, there's Fantasyland on Peachtree Road in Buckhead. I haven't been there in years, though, so I don't know how it measures up.

3. Surly

Surly Bon Viv-oh-no-he-didn't

Choices are pretty slim here, unfortunately. There's only 2 stores here I will recommend, both in the Little 5 points area. For vinyl, check out Wax-N-Facts - they have a great selection, reasonable prices, and all of it is alphabetized! Just a few steps away is Criminal Records, a great place for new CDs (and a little selection of used stuff) of indie rock. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It's a bit tough to shop due to most of the CDs being merchandised spine-out behind glass cases, but they do have a great selection.

4. CraigVC

CraigVC Senior Member

Wuxtry Records ... in, um, Decatur? (Sorry I grew up in Marietta just north of Atlanta, but moved away about six years ago and I'm losing track of where everything is there. Look up Wuxtry in the Atlanta phone book for the address.) They have LPs and CDs, with an "indie rock" and "punk/post punk" leaning last time I was there.

Craig(VC).

5. David Powell

David Powell Well-Known Member