Shure M91ED w/Hi Track vs. newer cartridges like Ortofon Red, etc.?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by shnaggletooth, Jul 21, 2019.

1. shnaggletooth

shnaggletooth Senior Member Thread Starter

I'm digging through my box of old carts, and there's a Shure M91ED w/ a Hi Track stylus, which I've never used before. I'll need a new headshell to listen to it, but how does this old cartridge compare to the new, popular carts like Ortofon Red, Nagaoka MP-110, etc.? The specs I found for it look sort of similar. I've been thinking of spending some $$ on one of the new carts, but would I really need to if the Shure if pretty much the same quality, even if it is 40 years older?

BrentB likes this.
  2. stereoguy

stereoguy Its Gotta Be True Stereo!

Great vintage Cart, perfect for 50s, 60s and 70s Rock. You can also get a JICO stylus on EBAY for it.

BrentB and kt66brooklyn like this.
  3. qwerty

qwerty A resident of the SH_Forums.

The Shure M91ED was a good cart in it's day, it was a good upgrade on the stock cart's that were supplied with many entry-level tables. There are better cart's out there if you have a high-end turntable. I'm confident it would hold it's own against many current carts.

4. Tim Irvine

Tim Irvine Forum Resident

I had one mounted on a TD150 and loved it. It was, as noted above, solid for rock, but I also enjoyed it a lot for classical and jazz.

5. Doctorwu

Doctorwu Senior Member

One of my favorite carts, powerful and very punchy sound,with Jico SAS it's sensational, prefer it over many new much higher priced carts i tried.

6. Cylontymany

Cylontymany Forum Resident

Agreed! I was raised on this cart and love the sound of it!

Doctorwu and The FRiNgE like this.
  7. Daniel Thomas

Daniel Thomas Forum Resident