Songs with the "mixolydian" chord progression

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by classicrockguy, Feb 23, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. classicrockguy

classicrockguy Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm not a musician, I think I know what this is, but the Wiki page is way too technical. What are some songs that represent this, I think it might have been big in the 1970s?

I think that "All Right Now" is an example, correct?

2. Ryan Lux

Ryan Lux Senior Member

Mixolydian is blues. So anything that is blues influenced will make use of that scale or variations of. Just the major scale with the flat 7th.

3. Day_Tripper2019

Day_Tripper2019 Forum Resident

Jerry Garcia used that scale a lot when jamming.

Greenmonster2420 likes this.
  4. Ryan Lux

Ryan Lux Senior Member

I believe you're thinking of Phrygian though I'd have to go back and analyze White Rabbit.

O Don Piano and Atmospheric like this.
  5. Rfreeman

Rfreeman Senior Member

As far as I am aware mixolydian is a mode, and there are chord progressions that are well suited for improvisation in that mode, but it is not one specific chord progression.

Someone correct me if I am wrong please.

6. Ryan Lux

Ryan Lux Senior Member

Just realized you said chord progression and not scale, though they are interchangeable. Pete Townsend used the b7 chord a ton:

Won't GeT Fooled Again
    My Generation
    Love ain't For Keeping
    Slip Kid

Footloose is another off the top of my head.

7. drad dog

drad dog A Listener

Just on a little research: Rick Beato says that I Feel Fine, She Said She Said, and Norwegian Wood are good examples of it.

8. HitAndRun

HitAndRun Forum Resident

Wikipedia has a list of notable music in the Mixolydian mode, which includes some very well known songs.

Mixolydian mode - Wikipedia

Adam9, Ryan Lux and hi_watt like this.
  9. Ryan Lux

Ryan Lux Senior Member

Yes, there isn't one specific Mixo progression but many that use the scale.