Sonus Faber Olympica II vs. III - worth the $ difference?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Jerry James, Jun 5, 2020.

1. Jerry James

Jerry James Rorum Fesident Thread Starter

I am looking to make the last remaining upgrade in my system. I've been using the Focal Chorus 836 V's for a few years now, and everything else around them has been upgraded. I'm interested in purchasing a used pair of Sonus Faber Olympica's, just trying to decide between the II or III. Price difference seems on average to be around 2K. Is there that much of a difference for that amount of money, and if so; in what way? Has anyone here gone from the II's to the III's? I can probably swing purchasing the III's, but that would wipe me out for a bit, financially, but I also don't want to skimp at this point if it's really worth it.

Tim 2 likes this.
  2. evo777

evo777 Forum Resident

Hello there I'm not going to lie to but these prices are waaaay above what I go for but what I will say is,your old speakers are about £1200 & the "cheaper" Sonus are 8k!!! So right of the bat you'll DEFINITELY hear a HUGE difference in sound quality(bare in mind it may NOT be to your liking though!!!).

You WON'T hear such a big difference with the two Sonus's though two reasons,they are a lot closer in price than your current speakers &, they'll both have the Sonus "house sound" most if not all speakers from the same manufacturer will have a house/similar sound, I'm not being funny but these are the basics you should know/learn when you're looking to spend this type of money.
    Saying all that if you really want what you've earmarked,go with the "II" & use the spare cash to buy more music,a used car, redecorate,nice present for your partner etc.(you'll have that much left over).

Good luck
    -evo777

3. Gie663

Gie663 Forum Resident