DCC Archive sota comet

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Unknown, Nov 14, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Unknown

Unknown Guest Thread Starter

steve, i purchased a used sota comet turntable probably over 6 months ago by now. im no expert on anything but id like to say that i love music and i've never really paid much attention to how well music was engineered and recorded until about a year ago. im pretty much satisfied with the comet i have, it came with a grado black cartridge which ive seen is a rather inexpensive one. when i hooked it up there was a lot of hum, a lot. after i fooled around with it i got the hum to a bare minumum. i was wondering if you've ever had any time to use a sota comet and what cartridge you would recommend? i was thinking of tryin one of the moving magnet ortofon's? also wondering what you thought of sota in general and ortofon? thanks, todd

2. Unknown

I'm not Steve, but I think I can help, so I'll throw this out there.

Grados use an unshielded cartridge (or at least they did). This is arguably a bad thing, cause TTs with unshielded motors (Rega, AR, e.g.) will cause hum to be picked up through the cartridge. So Grado can point the finger at Rega or AR and vice-versa. BTW, I have no idea about the motor on a SOTA.

I have used Grado MMs on my Linn exclusively since I bought it. I recently had hummmmmm problems and it took me a while to get to the bottom of it.

The symptoms:

Some hum noticeable at 9 o'clock on the preamp, getting louder as the volume is increased.

Hum starts in the left chanel, IIRC, with the tonearm in its resting position. As I moved it over the platter it got considerably worse and became equally loud in both channels.

Now, the first instinct is to say the cartridge is picking up hum from the motor. That would explain why it got louder when I moved the cart over the platter. I also took a sheet of mumetal, set it on top of the platter, and noticed that it reduced the hum. Aha!