sota I-Clamp

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by trilogia, May 2, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. trilogia

trilogia New Member Thread Starter

im looking for information about this record clamp. i own a sota comet turntable, and i was thinking of buying this. but before that, i was thinking i could make my own. i work in a shop where they use all kinds of exotic metals and a lot of different plastics, teflons and all that stuff. so im looking for basically everything there is to know about it such as all dimensions, weight, height and things of that natrue. how does it work exactly, what is it made out of? any information or a link would be appreciated, thanks.

2. trilogia

trilogia New Member Thread Starter

also had a question about record clamps in general. dont their weight cause the motor to slow down? and what is a good way to check if your turntable is running at the right speed?

3. KLM

KLM Senior Member

I don't have the dimensions and such for you but materials such as carbon fiber, lead, and heavy acrylic are all good materials for a clamp. Does a clamp slow down the motor, well if its a good quality motor than it shouldn't matter and the motor will readjust at the proper speed. This shouldn't be a problem with a SOTA and I'm sure they would recommend a clamp for their tables as most high end companies do. The best way to check the speed is to buy a strobe disc from VPI (and maybe others).

Clamps can be very effective at reducing vibrations and truly making the platter and record act as one piece to reduce colorations caused by vibrations or disc slippage.

Good luck.

4. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.

I just bought a SOTA clamp from a forum doode, so I'll let you know what I think, once I get it!

5. Ronflugelguy

Ronflugelguy Resident Trumpet Geek

BTW, Sckott, I never asked you what table you will be usiong the clamp on?

6. Sckott

Rega Planar 3.

7. Ronflugelguy

Stock felt mat?

8. Sckott