Sources for 3 matched Telefunken 12AX7A tubes?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Todd Fredericks, May 3, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Todd Fredericks

Todd Fredericks Senior Member Thread Starter

I'm buying Kim's "Hong Kong" preamp and I'd like to eventually replace the stock tubes (in a few weeks or so) with 3 Telefunken 12AX7A tubes. Here are my questions:

Who are some good dealers I can buy them from (matched/properly tested/reasonable prices/etc.)?

Are there any specific types of Telefunken tubes I should ask for (I'm still kind of new in the "tube world"/country/etc.)?

If anyone can list a pretty detailed "shopping list" (so I'll know exactly what to ask for when I'm ready to order) I'd appreciate it.

Thanks,
    Todd

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Todd,

Your tubes do not need to be matched. Preamp tubes are self biasing.

Contact Kevin Deal at Upscale Audio (link on my homepage). I think he has some slightly used Teles for $20.00 each or something like that. Doesn't matter which kind of Tele 12AX7. Just as long as it is a real one (with the diamond on the bottom). Kevin has them.

3. Todd Fredericks

Thanks, Steve! I'll give Kevin a call in a few weeks. Also, thanks for the info about not needing matched preamp tubes (I'm still learning) and buying "real" ones with the diamond on the bottom...

Todd

4. Steve Hoffman

Todd,

It's fun goofing around with tubes. If you ever have any questions, this is the place to post them!

BTW, Tele's were in a lot of old Fisher, Dyna, etc. gear as standard equipment in the old days. Why? The Telefunken company offered their tubes to the USA market for next to nothing. It just so happens that the Tele 12AX7 is the best of its kind.