Staight, No Chaser

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Chris M, Jul 30, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chris M

Chris M Senior Member In Memoriam Thread Starter

Haven't heard much about this SACD. How is it compared to the remaster?

Chris

2. Chris M

Just trying to keep my topic from disappearing:o

Chris

3. bmoura

bmoura Senior Member

4. MagicAlex

MagicAlex Gort Emeritus

Chris...I have this one on the way and should be able to give you an opinion in a day or two. If Columbia did as good a job with this as they did with 'Mingus Ah Um' then we'll be in for a great ride. Have you heard this one?

5. Chris M

Nope, sure haven't. I'm new to Monk and SACD and was looking for a good intro to his work.

Chris

6. bmoura

bmoura Senior Member

The Mingus Ah Um SACD is also reviewed in the current Positive Feedback SACD review column mentioned above along with some other good ones (like the Willie Nelson "Stardust" SACD and Earth Wind & Fire's "All In All" SACD from Japan).

7. Chris M

Thanks!!

Chris

8. Metralla

Metralla Joined Jan 13, 2002

Thumbs up from me. I also have the JSACD "Solo Monk", which is a more introspective disc, interesting, but in smaller doses.

You won't be disappointed in "Straight, No Chaser". The SACD has two previously unreleased tracks to sweeten the deal - a different take of "I Didn't Know About You" and a tune called "Green Chimneys".

Engineered for SACD by Mark Wilder.

Regards,
    Geoff

9. NoTinEar

NoTinEar Suspended