Suggestions For Jazz Please! (Hard Bop Vinyl)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by tAC0, Sep 4, 2018.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tAC0

tAC0 ...for the record, I’m a vinylist Thread Starter

I’m quite new on this forum and this is my thread starting debut.

I’m also kind of new in the beautiful world of jazz. This seems the right place to expand my horizon a bit... Nothing more personal than taste, so here are a few examples what I like and listen to frequently (I prefer vinyl):

Donald Byrd ‘Royal Flush’

Miles Davis ‘Kind Of Blue’

Cannonball Adderly ‘Somethin’ Else’

Art Blakey & The Jazz Messengers ‘At The Jazz Corner Of The World vol 1&2’
    (I’m lucky to own both the original RVG pressings. Note: it’s not the ‘Meet Me At...’-version).

I like Gregory Porter and Trijntje Oosterhuis when I feel like vocal jazz...

When it comes to jazz fusion I like some Ponty, Stanley Clarke and some of Allan Holdsworth work.

What I DON’T like is when it’s getting too... how do you say it in good English... paranoid, freaky, unrythmic. I sometimes listen to some of Coltrane’s work, but some of it is too ‘freaky/difficult’ for these untrained ears.

Can someone give me some titles (available on vinyl) for ‘easy to listen to’ hard bop? To narrow it down a bit let us not get into the fusion part and vocal jazz, shall we? I’m mainly searching for records like the four titles I mentioned in the beginning. I’ve heard some other Miles stuff (Bitches Brew, Sketches...), but it’s not my cup of tea. Too experimental for me maybe?

If you have info about a specific pressing then please add that as well.

Love to get some nice suggestions...

Last edited: Sep 4, 2018
    Dan Steele and ohnothimagen like this.
  2. tAC0

Anyone?

3. Daedalus

Daedalus I haven't heard it all.....

Anything by Horace Silver would be a start. Sonny Rollins also.

4. krisjay

krisjay Psychedelic Wave Rider