Technics SL-1200 - do they really sound good?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by vw1300, Apr 3, 2024.

1. vw1300

vw1300 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

To clarify - I get that this turntable is sturdy and will last for years. But do they really give a decent sound like one might expect from turntables that are in a similar price range ant least when new, at least in stock form?

I ask because I have no experience with a 1200 or its siblings, nor with Regas et al. to compare it to. I’m considering upgrading my Music Hall 1.5 and It does seem easy to find used Mk2 1200s, been reading up on how to shop for one that’s not worn out. Price range I’m considering is $1000-ish. Just wondering if that’s what I really want to do. I like the idea of a sturdy turntable with easy cart replacement, but it’s got to sound good too. Decent Mk2s seem to run $700-900 which leaves me $ room to play around with carts.

My ears are not audiophile grade either so this would likely be an upgrade that will hopefully last for a very long time.

thanks!

Boltman92124, Aftermath and jbmcb like this.
  2. Built like a Tank. Do some research for a good Cart & Headshell combo. Also, an KAB tonearm damper down the line. I've had 2 since 83 & sold 1 off since I purchased the GAE & kept my other one. Total of 4 decks in my collection. Enjoy!

johnny q, Rick58, punkmusick and 2 others like this.
  3. Technocentral

Technocentral Forum Resident

I bought a mkii for €650 summer 2022 in great condition as it was. I got it serviced and checked straight away just to be certain that all was OK, the same person added new low capacitance rcas to it, replaced the capacitors on the main board, slightly tighened tye tonearm screws etc, then I got a silicone tonearm damper and a AT6006R tonearm lifter, total cost without carts circa €1000. I have 4 carts for it and it sounds great imo.

Rick58 likes this.
  4. Oelewapper

Oelewapper Plays vinyl instead of installing it on the floor.