Technics SL-1210GR & Pioneer PLX-1000

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by punkmusick, Jun 27, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. punkmusick

punkmusick Amateur drummer Thread Starter

Before anything else I'd like to say I'm not an audio expert. I happen to like music and turntables, but I'm not very experienced. I've been in this forum for quite some time and I wrote some things that I later realized were wrong and I'm probably still writing things that in the future I'll find out are wrong. One thing I learned is that you have to be very careful and cautious when reviewing gear. I know now that some things I said in the past about some gear are not exactly true, and I only found out about it when I upgraded other gear. I thought a cartridge sounded like X but with a new phono stage I found out it actually sounds like Y. So take what I'm saying with a grain of salt. I learned a lot from my experience and from this forum in the last months but I'm still in the process of learning.

My path so far

In January I decided I should buy a new turntable to substitute the Pro-Ject Debut Carbon that I had bought in Los Angeles in 2012. Considering what was available in Brazil, I was between a Rega Planar 3 and a Pioneer PLX-1000. For a few reasons I ended up buying the Pioneer: Having suffered from hum with the Pro-Ject, I was afraid of the not uncommon speed and hum issues with entry and mid level Regas and if I had to upgrade platter, subplatter, belt and PSU it would become too expensive if I could ever find these upgrades here. At the same time, I was seduced by the favorable reviews the Pioneer had from real life users members of this and other foruns and from professional reviewers. I was not afraid of the whole Chinese-Hampin thing and confidently pulled the trigger.

It was love at the first sight. I thought the PLX-1000 was great. I still think it is.