Technics SL-5 which cartridge?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by cherbette, Jun 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cherbette

cherbette Forum Resident Thread Starter

I just bought this linear-tracking table and have been reading online from other users who have the SL-5 that the Grado Black P-mount is the affordable way to go with this table with the best sound quality. As a newbie, I am definitely looking from feedback from the experts here. Ideas?

2. bonjo

bonjo Forum Resident

I've never had a Grado p-mount, so I can't say much about the sound.

In any event, your choices are pretty limited. All the really good Audio Technica and Shure p-mounts are no longer made.

If you can find a new Shure MP94E or Audio Technica AT316 on eBay, those are two low cost p-mounts that sound really good on Technics turntables, or at least they do on the non-linear tracking ones. Then again, the linear trackers have completely different arms so they may not match as well.

Hope that helps you in some way!

3. JBStephens

JBStephens I don't "like", "share", "tweet", or CARE. In Memoriam

4. I have an SL-6 that I use for ripping vinyl to digital and I lucked out and found a new old stock Sony MC-10 p-mount which is a high output moving coil cartridge. This table sounds fantastic with that cart but they are as rare as hen's teeth and even more rare in p-mount. I originally had an Ortofon OM-30 on it and that sounded fantastic as well. The OM 20 or even the OM 10 are more reasonably priced and still available as new old stock in some places.

5. PhilBiker

PhilBiker sh.tv member number 666

This.