Temperature for storing cassettes

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Justme87, Jun 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Justme87

Justme87 Active Member Thread Starter

Hi,

I’m rather new in collecting tapes.
    As my collection starts to grow I wanted to know the ideal conditions for storing them.

My room is sunlight free, low humidity and I store them upright on shelves. Most of the time it’s about 18 to 20 degrees Celsius (66 Fahrenheit) in my room.

My question: in Belgium we only have a few days a year where the temperature climbs up to higher temperatures. 30 to 32 Celsius in my room (88 to 90 Fahrenheit). Could this be harmful for playback?

Thanks in advance

2. I think you wouldn't need to worry. I've had tapes stored in my old bedroom in Southern Spain, at 800 meters from the sea and with Summer temperatures of over 40 ºC and these play great. More so, I've had a few DCC tapes and Mini Discs stored in the same room and when I moved to a new flat inland Spain, my old DCC portable deck and two Mini Disc stand alone and walkman popped up. On the new flat I wanted to test both my own recorded DCC tapes and Mini Discs. Mini Discs played flawlessly and DCC tapes had a few glitches here and there, around 3 or 4 on a 90 minute tape. But keep in mind that 'though DCC's digital format used error correction, it fitted 9 tracks where regular cassettes had only two. Also, the DCC tapes were recorded back in 1993/94, that's over 25 years ago.

3. Justme87

Thx for the reply !
    Glad I don’t have to worry about the hot weather conditions only occurring a few times a year.
    I collect pre-recorded audio cassettes (genre metal) that are not released on vinyl/CD

The FRiNgE, pscreed and Kiko1974 like this.
  4. Wayne Nielson

Wayne Nielson Forum Resident

72° F.

Justme87 likes this.
  5. brockgaw

brockgaw Forum Resident