The Big Moving Coil Cartridge Poll - Under $1000

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Davey, Jan 11, 2022.

1. Davey

Davey NP: Bianca Scout ~ Pattern Damage (2024) Thread Starter

This is a companion poll to The Big Moving Coil Cartridge Poll - $1000 to $1300

Only stipulations are that cartridge is moving coil and new, currently in production, and available to purchase in the US for under $1000. There are a couple cartridges I put on the poll that may be in the discontinuation process, but still widely available. And there are a couple overlaps from the other poll right at the $1000 price point, so I went ahead and added them so this poll can stand on its own ...

Cyclone Ranger and punkmusick like this.
  2. Over the years I only owned one $1000.00 cartridge and that was a Shelter 501MKII and sold it within two months. I didn't venture into the above $500.00 MC cartridge range for a while. I've been using the AT-33PTGII for a few years. I rotate cartridges based on mode but after a while the 33 always returns.

Triffid, nutsfortubes and Davey like this.
  3. mkane

mkane Strictly Analog

I have a shelter that out right now but we do have Denon 301mkII we use quite often. The 103's (R's, M, D )are also good.

Hendertuckie, MCM_Fan and Davey like this.
  4. ubiknik

ubiknik Forum Resident

I voted Audio-Technica AT-OC9XSL because that's all I got.
    I do thoroughly enjoy it, but seeing that the Ortofon Quintet Black S is 999$ I can't help but wonder how that sounds...

Icethorn, HiFi Guy and Davey like this.
  5. Davey

Yea, the Shelter 501 is pretty popular in the other poll, the current MkIII version is $1300 now, so unfortunately priced out of this poll.

6. BillWojo

BillWojo Forum Resident

Denon DL-103 and when you wear it out, have it retipped with a nicer stylus. Even if you get a boron cantilever with a microline stylus, added it to the cost of the cartridge when new it's still under the $1000.00