The Strawbs album by album thread!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Chemically altered, Mar 27, 2020.

1. Chemically altered

Chemically altered Forum Resident Thread Starter

[​IMG]
    Strawbs 1969.
    I knew this album would be good 3 seconds after I started playing it! It's a little bit of a mixed bag as a few of these over produced songs don't come off, but what does work is outstanding: The Man Who Called Himself Jesus, Pieces Of 79 and 15, Oh How She Changed, Where Is This Dream Of Your Youth? and The Battle. Fantastic!

Dave Cousins; Vocals, guitar
    Tony Hopper: Vocals, guitar
    Ron Chesterman: Double Bass
    with guest session players that include John Paul Johns and Nicky Hopkins.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2020
  2. Chemically altered

The s/t debut's recording budget was 30, 000. More than $200,000 in todays money!!

3. MikeM

MikeM Senior Member

Though I know it wasn't released until a few years after the fact, it would make sense to start with All Our Own Work if you really wanted to chart the development of the band from the beginning.

In saying this, I may be influenced by how much I love this album. But I entered this thread hoping that this would be what I'd first find under discussion.

4. Chemically altered

Yeah, that's what it sounds like, which is quite understandable as it's such a gem. I'll post the album right after Bursting At The Seams as it was released right after that one.

Last edited: Mar 30, 2020
    Andy Smith likes this.
  5. carlwm

carlwm Forum Resident

Didn't know too much about The Strawbs beyond Part Of The Union until the mid 2000s although I missed a chance to see them in concert back when they toured with Lindisfarne in around '93/'94. Strawbs were on first and I was delayed getting to the show.