Thinking of buying a Mono cartridge...need help, thanks

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by bayen, Sep 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bayen

bayen Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello. After reading a current thread regarding a Grado mono cartridge, I've decided to look into owning one. I'm fairly new at this and have a few questions. I can't afford an expensive mono cart and was thinking about purchasing either the Grado MC+ or ME+. When listening to mono now I usually combine the L/R channels using the old double "Y" cord trick. I've had great success using this method. Are the Grado mono carts manufactured differently for mono playback or are they like a stereo cart (same construction) but wired for mono? I don't want to purchase a mono cart if the only difference is the wiring and not the way the stylus performs in the groove. Also, anyone have experience with the Grado MC+ or ME+ and can explain the difference or make a recommendation? Thanks for the help

2. Puma Cat

Puma Cat Forum Resident

No, I called Grado specifically about this. They are proper mono cartridges and constructed intrinsically differently than a stereo cartridge.

There are is a Grado in the Prestige series that is a mono cartridge that is affordable, though you haven't stated your budget.

3. Scott in DC

Scott in DC Forum Resident

Mono

I have also been considering mono cartridges. See below for the cartridges I have been considering, specifically the Spirit model. These are true mono cartridges.

Scott

http://www.miyajima-lab.com/e-mono.html

4. Reader

Reader Senior Member

I've been thinking about getting a mono cartridge also but haven't decided yet. I've been playing a lot of old mono 45's and a few mono LPs lately and was wondering if the mono cartridge would improve the sound much if any.