Thoughts about tubes and the Cronus Magnum II

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Lebowski, Oct 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lebowski

Lebowski Hey, careful man, there's a beverage here! Thread Starter

I've been looking at swapping my integrated amp lately. See some thoughts here on the Rega Brio-R and a few other models: Very surprised to not really like the Brio-R

Yesterday I brought home a demo unit of the Cronus Magnum II. Dealer said they've had it for about two years, but it has relatively low hours. Not sure what to think of that.

Anyhow, I'm a complete newb to full-on tube amps. I knew that tubes give off some heat, but wow, this thing gets really hot. I took our infrared thermometer from the kitchen and checked some of the tubes. Some of them were over 300 degrees F. Wow, I thought my HK990 ran hot but it's nothing compared to this!

Firstly, I think it sounds really, really nice. Quite glorious actually. Very pleasantly surprised. However, for a piece of hi-fi gear this thing is noisy. The unit itself hums, and there's a hum coming from the speakers, and using the remote control to change volume results in a clicking noise through the speakers (experienced this previously in a Rogue Sphinx I used to have).

I'm reading and getting reports of this being "normal." However I'm not sure we should be using the term "normal" for this; maybe "expected" is a better word to use? After all, aren't we looking to reduce if not eliminate noise from our gear? Why would noise be called normal?

Do you have an amp with these kinds of noises? Can they be minimized? How much does one need to spend on a tube amp to eliminate them?

And as for the temperature. It kind of worries me. My youngest is 6. She usually knows better than to touch the stereo, but things happen. (I am aware of the cage that Rogue makes)