Time to replace my Pioneer PL300

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Koen V., May 24, 2022.

Tags:
  1. Koen V.

Koen V. New Member Thread Starter

Hi guys,

As the title suggests, I'm looking to replace my Pioneer PL300!

The main reason is: the thing is made entirely of plastic. When I touch the bottom or the side of the plastic body, it is already audible. And not even a little bit, the slightest and gentlest of touches will seriously sound like deep rumbling coming through my speakers. Vibrations because of loud music should also be audible and I think this is the reason I tend to have a muddy sound.

I'm looking at both new and vintage models, as I don't know what the best option would be..
    Models that crossed my mind:
    - Rega Planar 2
    - Pro-Ject debut carbon EVO
    - Pro-ject debut PRO
    - NAD C558

These are all new models, since I have little knowledge of what older models are good. Also, I fear some new models might be overpriced due to marketing gimmicks. I'm really interested to know if a carbon fibre tonearm seriously results in a better sound.

What would you guys do? And why?

Thanks a lot for any help!!

2. BrentB

BrentB Urban Angler

Pioneer PLX-1000. These are definitely worth the price. Very rock solid and isolate vibrations well.

Oelewapper likes this.
  3. Koen V.

I would like to add three things that might be important to know:
    - I already own a AT VM540ML. So the cart on the TT is less important
    - The look of the player does matter to me. I would preferably go for a wallnut finish TT, although black would be fine if the TT looks kinda clean (Like the rega models)
    - I have no use for USB, pre-amp, ... functionalities. I just want great sound for my records! :)

BrentB, I kinda crossed the Pioneer off my list because of how it looks. The DJ-looking turntables are not for me. (Also my wife doesn't like looking at them, and I want to place the TT in our living room :D)

4. tumbleweed