TV advice : LG vs Sony

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Tartifless, Sep 29, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tartifless

Tartifless Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello,
    My HDTV just died and i am looking for a new TV, i am pretty much settled on OLED and my room would not need higher than 48".

I am left with only 2 options basically : Sony 48a9 and LG 48cx.
    I guess there is no wrong choice here !

What i need are 3 HDMI inputs, digital out to pass the sound to my amplifier.
    I will mount it on wall, the Sony has the advantage of having inputs the vertical way, would make it better for wallmounting.

However the LG supports more new standards and has a faster interface, Sony has Android TV.

I am not a gamer so I guess I do not care about HDMI 2.1.

I have a Canal+ subscription, the Canal app is not supported on LG os but I have a TV Box and a shield connected that both support it.

Picture quality should be quite similar, LG builds the panel and I guess they both have similar treatments.
    I don't care about TV sound quality.

My current TV is a Sony that I bought in 2007, so it pretty much survived 13 years which is very good, so I have trust in Sony.

Does anyone here have experience with both brands and would be able to give me some tips or help me decide ?

2. Lurgan Lad

Lurgan Lad Forum Resident

I have had good luck with Sony.
    Not so much with LG

Tartifless likes this.
  3. HiFi Guy

HiFi Guy Forum Resident

I’ve always purchased Sony. No issues.

4. Bingo Bongo

Bingo Bongo Music gives me Eargasms

My son has a beautiful LG with a red cursor on the screen and lots of Apps. I love it!

jesterthejedi and Tartifless like this.
  5. Razakoz

Razakoz Forum Resident

I've had a lg oled for years now with no regrets

6. Rolltide

Rolltide Forum Resident