Very new to vinyl...question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by kingoffighters, Sep 19, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kingoffighters

kingoffighters Member Thread Starter

Hello, I am very new to vinyl so I may not understand some of the explanation and may ask questions over and over so sorry in advance.

I've searched through the forums and found some threads related to the question I wanted to ask but they are old and locked so sorry if it sounds like doubling up but it's not...i just simply can't ask questions on already existing thread.

First, I currently have a AT-LP120XUSB and I'm thinking of changing my needle, which I believe is called the Stylus. To my understanding, the green thing is called the Cartridge, and the arm thing that the green thing is connected to is called the HEAD?

I want to upgrade to Audio-Technica VM540ML but here comes the questions....
    1) Is this an overkill for the LP120X as this cost just as much the turntable?

2) Looking at AMAZON's listing, I am not exactly sure which one to get:
    VM540ML CARTRIGE / CARTRIDGE + HEADSHELL / CARTRIDGE + HEADSHELL (ATH-HS6BK) or VM540ML/H Combo Kit. Which one do i choose out of those 5 choices? Amazon link is here https://www.amazon.com/Audio-Techni...d=1&keywords=VM540&qid=1600566546&sr=8-1&th=1

3) When the lifespan is near dying, do I need to spend 200+ (assuming price doesn't change) again if I want the same quality? And Do I buy the same thing I bought from #2 question or do I buy something else?

4) The default..i think the model was 95E is set to 2 on the weight thing and 2 on the other dial on the right side of it because Youtube video said to do so (I couldn't find this information on the manual). What do I set the dial on this model for the LP120X?