VM95ML or MP-110 on Rega? + which preamp?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by kostasdzy, Feb 20, 2019.

1. kostasdzy

kostasdzy Active Member Thread Starter

Hi.

As I am a newbie to this forum (and to vinyl as well, half a year) I need your insights on upgrading my low end setup.

Current set up:
    Rega Planar 1 with Rega Carbon
    Cambridge Audio Topaz SR20
    Wharfedale Diamond 225
    Wireworld Luna 7

I want to upgrade a cart, but I am stuck with deciding the right one. I listen various genres, mostly from old releases (50-70's soul, jazz, funk), as well as newly issued releases from ECM, a bit of psychodelic rock and electronic music. My budget for the new cart is up to 170€ (150£). After long searches through various forums, reviews on youtube, I have few choises:
    1. Nagaoka MP-110 (130€). I am sure that I would need at least 2mm spacers from Rega (which is no problem), but after that the lid would not close up. Groovetracer counterwight (189$ exl. shipping) does't look a reasonable choise in my case. Maybe there are any counterweight alternatives to Groovetracer?
    2. AT VM95ML (170€). I think that it would take a lot more efforts to set up it properly because of its more advanced stylus. Am I correct? I would ask local dealer to set up it for me, however It would be good to know that he would not inccur any surprices when setting it up :) However, I did not find any info wether I will need spacers and (or) different counterweight. As my Rega is the most basic model you can get and it does not have customizable features, is it a good idea to put ML cart on it in the first place? Maybe elip. nude? Comparing this model to VM540ML (259€) is it the upper league or just 10% improvement to VM95ML?
    What other cart choises do I have?

Hopefully by the summer I will buy a preamp. My No1 choice was Schiit Mani, but then those RFI forum threads were found. Now I am thinking about Rega Fono MM mk3 (259€) or Cambridge Audio Solo (179€).