What turntable mat?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by dorer, May 9, 2020.

1. dorer

dorer Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi
    Premise: I've never had a mat on my Project turntable. I recently read it could be useful so I'm asking what you recommend about? Some new entry mat, cause I can't spend like 50€ for a mat.
    Also I read some mat require that turntable arm to be set accordingly, I'm not an expert so here is my turntable

[​IMG]

Could you suggest me some mats compatible with my turntable? Thanks

Dan Steele likes this.
  2. rcsrich

rcsrich Forum Resident

I rock a cork mat on my U-turn Orbit and it has an acrylic platter. It provides a little cushion and seems less static prone than a rubber or felt one.

Day_Tripper2019 likes this.
  3. ctbarker32

ctbarker32 Forum Resident

4. Spica

Spica Easy like Sunday morning

My favourite is Ringmat.

Stone Turntable likes this.
  5. CCrider92

CCrider92 Senior Member

For a few dollars make your own out of 1/8th inch thick cork mat.

bever70, BrentB and Dr. Bogenbroom like this.
  6. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

Did that TT come with a mat? If not it's possible it was meant to be used without one. Be careful using a mat that is too thick on a TT that was either designed for no mat or a very thin mat.

BrentB likes this.
  7. ogdens_sliced

ogdens_sliced Walnut Plug

Skip the mat.
    Buy more records.

8. motionoftheocean

motionoftheocean Senior Member

I've used the Pro-ject Debut extensively - it's sold without a mat. My experience was that it sounded better with a cork mat but the important thing was to make sure the mat was on the thinner side (e.g. 1/8" max). playback with a thicker mat was noticeably duller. and without any mat, I found playback to tend toward "tinny."

CCrider92 likes this.
  9. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member

A friend had the regular debut carbon, no acrylic platter. I think that had some kind of mat, maybe a thin felt one.

10. motionoftheocean