When Listening To Jazz Do You Go By Artist Or Sub-Genre?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by mpayan, Jan 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpayan

mpayan A Tad Rolled Off Thread Starter

Ive noticed that I tend to go by artist when I listen to jazz. Right now Im stuck on Sonny Stitt. In all honesty its probably because Im still no expert in all the sub-genres of jazz.

Sure, I know the difference between cool, dixieland and say fusion. Pretty obvious. But all the different "bops"? Not so much.

So here is a couple of questions for the jazz guys and ladies:

Please read these before you go on:

Whats your pattern? By genre or artist? And why?

What artist are you into right now and why? Whats got you turned on about that particular artist?

How would you explain the different "bops" of jazz?

Yes, I know there is wiki. But I want to know how you guys describe the sub-genres and how you know by listening.

Have some fun with the thread above all :)

unclefred and mschrist like this.
  2. chervokas

chervokas Senior Member

There's really only two jazz subgenres commonly referred to as "bop" -- bebop and hard bop.