1. This day in history: January 12, 2002. 9:49 AM, California time. The Steve Hoffman Music Forums officially launched with this thread. Thank you for 20 years of music, discussion, and great memories! Join our "Thank You!" thread, and we'll see you in the forum!
    Dismiss Notice

Where do you have Joni Mitchell among the alltime greats?*

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Scott S., Dec 7, 2021.

1. Scott S.

Scott S. lead singer for the best indie band on earth Thread Starter

I tell ya, as an artist myself, few out there fill me with the kind of awe I feel whenever I put on one of her youtubes in the middle of the day. I mean can it get much greater than this?

stratmel, blehman, LaBowe and 6 others like this.
  2. chrisblower

chrisblower Forum Resident

At the top of the page. Number one.

3. Slash-n-burn

Slash-n-burn Forum Resident

Not in my top-100, frankly.

Don’t despise Joni Mitchell, but little of hers has made a lasting impression on me thus far

Rooster_Ties, obcbobd, MGM and 13 others like this.
  4. zither

zither Forum Lodger

Right at the very top. Her run of albums from 1970 to 1976 speaks for itself..

Ladies Of The Canyon
    Blue
    For The Roses
    Court and Spark
    Hissing Of Summer Lawns
    Hejira

5. carlwm

carlwm Forum Resident

I like her first three albums but that's as far as I go. It all becomes too ethereal and jazzy for my tastes thereafter. As to her place in the pantheon, it's assured, I would imagine.

6. zen

zen Senior Member

Filed under M.

MGM, PopularChuck, Colocally and 9 others like this.
  7. lennonfan1

lennonfan1 Forum Resident

Ladies through Don Juan's is a treasure trove. Top 10 artist for me.

Jarleboy, Smiler, PsychGuy and 3 others like this.
  8. Rich C

Rich C Forum Resident