Yamaha Amplifiers - Pure Direct and CD Direct Amp - comparisons sought

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by George P, Mar 18, 2019.

1. George P

George P Notable Member Thread Starter

Although pretty happy with my A-S801, I have been thinking my system's sound was slightly dull on top and that the bass sounds less defined than I would prefer. This is the sound that I get using the CD Direct Amp function, which I have been using for the last 9 months. Over the last few months, I have been looking for ways to correct this, but haven't found a solution. I hadn't considered changing to Pure Direct because I thought that CD Direct Amp was the optimum way to listen to a CD player through a Yamaha amp.

Today I started experimenting with the Pure Direct function. I did some brief comparisons with a few CDs and found that with CD Direct Amp I get a smoother sound, with a bit more bass and a bit less treble than what I get with the Pure Direct. The sound is rich and thick, but also muddy at times and again, sometimes slightly dull on top.

Pure Direct, by comparison, seems to give me a tighter, better defined bass and a bit more treble (and/or clarity on top.) The overall sound is a bit thinner, but I can hear more detail. Reading the manual, the Pure Direct function seems to be more pure than CD Direct Amp, as it simply provides a direct path, bypassing the tone controls (bass/treble/balance/loudness.)

CD Direct Amp does what Pure Direct does (stops power supply to the unnecessary circuit for CD playback), but also converts the input signal to the normal phase and reverse phase, and balance transfer to the electronic volume. The manual claims this will result in improved signal to noise ratio (pure direct boasts this as well), external noise canceling and reduced distortion.

So, if I understand this correctly, CD Direct Amp processes the sound inputted, while Pure Direct does not.